Unfunded Mandates Committee

UNFUNDED MANDATES COMMITTEE CHARGE

The FACM Board created the Unfunded Mandates Committee at is Board of Directors’ conference call meeting on February 10, 2017.  The charge of the committee is to develop a uniform definition of the term “unfunded mandate,” create a survey and compile the information obtained.  Additionally, the Committee has been charged with creating a communication plan that each county could utilize to distribute the information to its staff, commissioners and citizens.

 

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Norman Foster, Chair
Director, Office of Management & Budget
Broward County
nfoster@broward.org

Jack Brown, County Administrator
Escambia County
jrbrown@co.escambia.fl.us

Mark Satterlee, Deputy County Administrator
St. Lucie County
satterleem@stlucieco.org

Ashley Hepburn
Director, Office of Management & Budget
St. Lucie County
hepburna@stlucieco.org

Bob Goehrig, Budget Director
Pasco County
rgoehrig@pascocountyfl.net

Kimberli Radtke
Director, Office of Financial Management
Sarasota County
kradtke@scgov.net

Casey Perkins, Chief of Policy Research
Florida Association of Counties
cperkins@fl-counties.com

 

COMMITTEE DOCUMENTS

Legislative Memo on Analysis for Unfunded Mandates (1991, 1997)
Senate Interim Report on “Insignificant Impact” (2011)
Example of LCIR Mandates Reports (2007)
Circuit Court Order on DJJ Cost Shift (2004) 
FACA Unfunded Mandates Whitepaper, November 2016
FACA Unfunded Mandates Quick Reference Guide, November 2016 
Leon County Unfunded Mandates Cheat Sheet 
Palm Beach County Unfunded Mandates Cheat Sheet 
Article VII, Section 18, Florida Constitution